top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTay!

Trusting Myself and Other Horrifying Ideas

When you have anxiety, there's absolutely no trusting your gut.


"Just trust your gut," They say. "It'll never steer you wrong."


Okay, but my gut is an overworked, underpaid, slightly sweaty, definitely unhinged D!sney Villain's Henchman, with a trembling hand constantly hovering above the ABORT MISSION red button. I enter the room noting where all the trash cans are, as well as any exits, even though I am 1000% sure that if I needed to hurl, or escape any of the Super Reasonable Situations my brain can cook up, I wouldn't get to can nor door in time. And knowing where every trash can is located in my immediate surroundings isn't even soothing, because then I just fret so hard about 'what if I need to horf' that I give myself a stomachache.


So trusting myself has been out of the question for years.


However, working with my oracle decks has truly allowed me to shut everything out and listen to myself. It's taken quite a few months, and even still, I am having to make a conscious effort to recognize my intuition versus the goblin-like panicked shrieking.


Sounds easy when I put it like that, but that goblin shrieking is just another side of me.


Learning to read the story of the cards within the context of a spread has really shined a light on how strong my inner voice can be- and it's incredible (and terrifying) when I get the feedback that my reads are pretty spot on. In these last few months, I've found that I've been able to honor these thoughts swirling around my brain a lot easier than I used to, and while I can't say that I'm some psychic or seer, being able to discern an accurate Gut Feeling has definitely saved me from some disappointing surprises.


If you're like me, constantly wrestling the mind-gremlins for a sense of control and honesty, maybe try picking out a deck, one that calls to you- don't matter if it's tarot or oracle, the one that calls will be the one equipped to help you. Just be aware of the addiction that follows. The Card Collection is real.



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page